Review of the year 2021 and blog birthday

It was nine years ago: after a year of traveling around the world, I started this travel blog in December 2012. I would never have dared to dream that I would make a living from it. However, I did not expect a pandemic that would turn many things upside down. In 2021 – after my first two vaccinations – I was able to experience a few nice trips, plus a number of trips to NRW. In this article, I’ll give you a look back and tell you what’s planned for 2022. Also for my blog anniversary I will be in the Newsletter from January 1, 2022, raffle a package with travel accessories.

As I experienced in 2021

Just like everyone else who works in tourism, I had to switch over to Corona in 2020.

Before that, I was traveling around four months a year doing research for my travel blog. Since then I have traveled significantly less, especially in Germany and in neighboring countries.

That goes well with the fact that dog Buddy came to us in June 2018 and we can only travel with him in the car. Do you already know the 21 great ones Travel destinations for vacation with your dog? Some insider tips are also included.

I also added more to the blog vegan recipes from all over the world. After all, I love food almost as much as I love traveling. I am continuing my distance learning to become a vegan nutritionist.

Overall, I’m trying to make the best of the current situation. In the meantime Carsten and I have both been boosted, we are now waiting for further developments. Moments of happiness bring me strolling rounds in the forest, delicious vegan food as well as films and series like “Don’t look up” or “Grey’s Anatomy”.

I’m also making travel plans for 2022. So I have a looong list of travel destinations. So far, however, we have only booked one trip where we meet friends on site. I will book everything else spontaneously.

Are you still looking for travel inspiration? Then maybe mine will help you Bucket List Ideen with beautiful places around the world.

Annual review 2021

Excursions in NRW

Tulip fields in NeussWe live near Düsseldorf, in Mönchengladbach on the Lower Rhine. From here we go on trips with Buddy again and again.

Did you know that you can also experience tulip fields in Germany like in Holland? We visited at the end of April Tulip fields in Grevenbroich and Neuss, the photo above was taken for the latter. The colors were so beautiful!

They are also a great, free excursion destination Mammutbäume at the Sequoiafarm Kaldenkirchen. Here you can admire the tallest tree in the world from April to October.

Another excursion took us to the Romer Park Xanten. Germany’s largest archaeological open-air museum contains true-to-original replicas of Roman houses, temples and amphitheaters. There is also a café where you can eat delicious cakes (unfortunately not vegan).

In 2021 I was back in Cologne more often, where I had previously lived for twelve years. Here you can find mine Cologne tips. This year I have new articles on cafes with me vegan breakfast and Second Hand Shops written.

At the end of August we visited the heather blossom in the Westruper Heide (Haltern am See). We saw the sunrise with morning mist over the purple splendor, here there is a YouTube Video to.

The largest Pumpkin exhibition in NRW takes place every year at the Krewelshof Eifel. From the beginning of September to November there was a fantastic circus world with elephants, tigers and clowns as well as a giant pyramid made of over 100,000 pumpkins. You can get first insights in YouTube Video.

The lights up at Christmas time Webers’ estate Mönchengladbach with colorful decoration and lighting. There I always feel a little like the Griswolds in the classic film “Schöne Bescherung”.

By the way, do you already know them Excursion destinations on the Lower Rhine of eight travel bloggers? In this article you will find many beautiful places.

South Tyrol: mountain vacation in Italy

Karersee in Südtirol EggentalI just love Italy! Whether cities like Rome or Florence with a lot of culture, the sea or the food. As often as I’ve been in the country, we visited South Tyrol in northern Italy for the first time in June 2021.

From Mönchengladbach it took one day to drive into the car Eggental, near Bolzano. We spent relaxing days in our wellness hotel with a pool, mountain views and – on request – vegan food. We also visited the beautiful Karer See, the surrounding Dolomites and imposing earth pyramids.

Gdynia and Gdańsk (Danzig) in Poland

Long alley in GdanskWe have been to Kołobrzeg very often (Kolberg) on the Polish Baltic coast. In July 2021 we went a little further east.

In the port city Gdynia we looked at the white Bauhaus architecture and a museum ship, visited the city beach as well as the cliff and pier in the Orłowo district. In Gdynia you can experience a city trip and a beach holiday in one, really great!

From there it went with a guide Danzig. I really liked the old Hanseatic city with its colorful houses, the Neptune Fountain and some vegan restaurants! You can find the tour to relive in the article.

Experience Frankfurt with a dog

Frankfurt with dog excursion destinations hotel restaurantsA city trip with a dog? That worked out great in Frankfurt am Main with its many green spaces.

In August 2021 we tried out the dog culture package including a city tour in an organic hotel. We also visited dog walks, the Lohrberg with a view of the skyline and restaurants with vegan options. You can find my tips in this article Frankfurt with a dog.

Discover Münsterland by bike

Burg Hülshoff Münsterland tipsI like cycling a lot, because it allows me to go at my own pace and see a lot of the surroundings. With the e-bike I visited sights in August Münsterland. Since it was mostly flat and there were good bike paths, it was very pleasant to ride there.

In the lively student city of Münster, I enjoyed the view, visited the weekly market and stayed in a historic moated castle. From there I cycled to Hülshoff Castle for a vegan picnic in the park.

Island Ameland in Holland

Ameland tips for your holiday in HollandThere are five inhabited islands in the West Frisian Wadden Sea. After I was already in Terschelling fell in love, she went to the neighboring island in September 2021 Ameland.

With Martina (Dogs travel more) I explored the island on the e-bike. We looked at the lighthouse, the endless North Sea beaches with beach restaurants, went on a tour through the Wadden Sea and admired the sunset over the sea. We had a wonderful time!

City trip to Bayreuth

Margravial Opera House BayreuthMany opera fans dream of the Wagner Festival in Bayreuth. Others rave about the magnificent Margravial Opera House, which is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. But there is still more to see!

In October 2021 I spent a long weekend in the Bavarian student town. In addition to the classic sights, I discovered street art as well as many cafes and restaurants with vegan food.

Travel plans 2022

Vejbystrand in Skane SwedenThe first trip is booked: in April we will visit the Texel island Martina from “Dogs travel more” with her two ridgebacks.

Other destinations on my wish list:

Raffle for the blog anniversary

If you choose mine Newsletter registered, then you can participate in my raffle via the newsletter from January 1st, 2022. I’m giving away a package with travel accessories, it includes a travel planner for every month, money box, travel diary, camping mug and passport cover.

What is your dream travel destination for 2022?

Newsletter & Social Media

Would you like to be informed about new blog posts? Then subscribe to Travel on Toast via Newsletter. Once a month you will receive inspiration, insider tips and information on competitions. Also like to follow me about Instagram, Facebook, Pinterest or YouTube. You can find out more about me here.

The following two tabs change content below.

This travel blog & food blog is about beach holidays, city trips, road trips, holidays with your dog and vegan food. Feel free to follow me on Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest or YouTube.

We want to give thanks to the writer of this write-up for this outstanding content

Review of the year 2021 and blog birthday

First Media Marketing